City of Perth Council to discuss Footpath Parking for Scooters & Motorbikes

Support the Initiative to make Perth a more Liveable City

Allowing motorcycles and scooters to park on some footpaths would overcome serious inner-city parking shortages, according to two City of Perth councillors. They say footpaths on many streets are wide enough to accommodate motorbikes, just as they do in parts of Melbourne and some overseas cities.

Footpath Parking in Melbourne

While the current parking options are limited to pretty much the single motorcycle & scooter parking on Mounts Bay Rd, the proposed change would allow parking of scooters & motorcycles on footpaths within the city as long as there is no obstruction to pedestrians, loading zones or alfesco dining areas.

Read the Article in The West here.

Read the article in the “The Perth Voice” here.

We are convinced in the interest of reducing congestion and increasing accessibility of the city centres, this is long overdue in Perth. It would be increasing quality of life for everyone to get to work or for a quick shopping trip to be able to park their motorcycle or scooter within reasons on several places in the CBD. We hope that other councils might follow this initiative if Perth is implementing it.

While we are looking into further ways to support this initiative, we encourage everyone to contact one of the Perth City councillors and let them know that this is actually a great thing to do.

A motion by Cr Jemma Green seconded by Cr Reece Harley will be put forward to the Council to explore parking possibilities for scooters & motorcycles within the next month.

 

What we can do now:

If you find a minute, please show your support to this motion by writing a short email to the councillors:

CR Jemma Green (jemma.green@cityofperth.wa.gov.au)

Cr Reece Harley (reece.harley@cityofperth.wa.gov.au)

Director of Parking Rebecca Moore (rebecca.moore@cityofperth.wa.gov.au)

Or contact some of the other councillors:

Lord Mayor Lisa Scaffidi (lord.mayor@cityofperth.wa.gov.au)

Deputy Lord Mayor James Limnios (james.limnios@cityofperth.wa.gov.au)

Cr Janet Davidson (janet.davidson@cityofperth.wa.gov.au)

Cr Jim Adamos (jim.adamos@cityofperth.wa.gov.au)

Cr Lily Chen (lily.chen@cityofperth.wa.gov.au)

Cr Judy McEvoy (judy.mcevoy@cityofperth.wa.gov.au)

Cr Keith Young (Keith.Yong@cityofperth.wa.gov.au)

 

We will be looking into other initiatives together with other interest groups at the moment. If you have an idea or need some help writing a short email to the councillors, please don;t hesitate to contact fredy@acescooters.com.au.

 

 

 

11 Comments

  • Les Wilson| June 8, 2017 at 2:46 pm Reply

    I support notion

  • Graeme fox| June 7, 2017 at 7:50 am Reply

    Absolutely support this initiative, this will encourage the use of motorcycles for commuting thereby easing congestion somewhat. Motorcycle parking in the city is fairly limited at present

  • Michelle| June 5, 2017 at 12:16 pm Reply

    It certainly seems to work in Melbourne http://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/parking-and-transport/parking/parking-rules/Pages/motorcycle-parking.aspx – it would be wonderful to see it in Perth! Will put my two cents worth in to the PCC.

  • John de Greef| June 4, 2017 at 9:23 am Reply

    I sent an email to all the Councillors and also to the City Of Perth Director of Parking. I suggested that they should endose this motion for the benefit of Perth, less traffic, less polution, less street maintenance and more visitors to the City of Perth…

  • Will George| June 4, 2017 at 4:59 am Reply

    About time we became a little progressive. This initiative is long overdue.

    Leave comments

    Your email address will not be published.*



    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

    Back to top